Genius is to know when to stop


Why do we need to stop something …. ? Think hard, think quick … or don’t think at all 🙂

But don’t overthink, know when to stop overthinking, and just like overthinking know when to stop over drinking, over working, over playing, over resting, over sleeping, over partying, over slogging, over reading, over eating, over writing …. STOP

Just stop !

051515EIG_routine_fiZK4QhAre you waiting for someone to show you the mirror and then you’d realise you need to change something; that needs to be worked upon !?! But it’s simple, really. Map a week of your life – yes; you read it right, map your day-to-day for a week. From wake up to sleep, from coffee to pee. Map it all. Map the Mondays & map the Sundays too and then next week analyse it for a pattern. It’s no rocket science. Trust me you would be surprised to see so much of routine, you didn’t realise existed at all 🙂

Hmmm…. let’s get to the real deal

Did you find a routine ? Um… same time – same activity, something as small as a few cups of tea or coffee, or the sugar rush daily, or the OCD for washing hands repeatedly, or the lazy noon nap … was their anything that was a routine !

download (5)It’s time to break the routine, I know – I know you might think what’s the need, why disrupt the calm and peace… it’s all working just fine. Okay let’s test it then. Map yourself again the following week, and this time intentionally don’t do the things that were a routine the previous week. I know its not easy, but it’s no addiction right !?! We can handle this much, we are just not having – bed tea as usual, or cracking our knuckles or eating our lunch in flat 10 minutes, oh oh and those gossip sessions – include them in also please. So what if we are missing our work-out session for a week… is it that big a deal ? The work-out can happen at a different routine, the sky won’t fall “Trust me”.

download (6)What I am trying to say is – this pattern – this routine we so unknowingly follow daily, has us captive. It’s time to turn the table around and be the master. Don’t let small daily practices become the boss, and become a need. You’re not making an excuse to skip the daily chores, or do what you need to do – this is an acquired skill to win over your will 🙂

alberteinstein1Genius is to know when to stop so it doesn’t become an addiction. What I want and what I need, should not control me ! We can’t always have access to all our wants and we can’t let that overshadow us. But if their is nothing I can’t do without, if everything I need has an alternative – then their is least dependency. We all have our favourites – but they are just supposed to be favourites not “everything to me”

What should be everything to me is only my independence !

I love my morning coffee, but I make sure I break the routine and while I have morning coffee most days; I infuse a week of noon coffee breaks. Skipping my morning beverage is tough, the first day at work I feel like a zombie, the second day, like I carry the weight of a rock, and the third day, I know it shall pass 🙂

It’s takes only a few minutes of will power, and our mind knows how to take control. This is Genius – not the files I will close after my regular shots-after-shots of coffee.

4671977-i-love-coffee-wallpapers
For the record #ilovecoffee

 

Leave a Reply

